top of page
Picking Grapes
  • Writer's pictureLotus Anwen Sagebrush

The Witness

As one evolves and progresses on their spiritual path we become the witness of our life. You still enjoy playing the role of Mother, Father, Doctor, Teacher, but you are performing this. You are enjoying being in this present state of consciousness, however the more subtle essence of life unfolds it illuminating petals and IS. Raja Yoga (method of attaining states of meditation) is practiced to attenuate the kleshas (ignorance, unaware of reality, the ego, likes or attractions, dislikes or repulsions, strong aversion or fear of death = suffering). Karma (path of selfless action) and Bhakti Yoga (path of devotion) help reduce the influence of the kleshas. What selfless actions do you engage in? What devotional path do you have?

The stages of Raja Yoga:

Yamas (social code)-ahimsa (non-harm), satya(absolute truth of being), asteya (honesty & non-theft), brahmacharya (sexual control), aparigraha (non-possesiveness).

Niyamas (personal code)- Shaucha (purity), santosha (contentment), tapas (austerity), swadhyaya (self-study), iswara pranidhana (self surrender to supreme consciousness).

Yamas and Niyamas helps one on their aim to transcend.

Asanas, yoga postures, are next on the Raja Yoga path. This helps us become a fit vehicle to serve spiritual purpose and stay healthy. Pranayama (breath science, control of pranic life force energy) goes hand in hand with asanas and sitting for meditation. Pratyahara is next in Raja Yoga, which helps us understand how to withdrawal our senses so that we may understand Dharana (concentration). One cannot understand or even come close to knowing Meditation without the above Raja yoga steps taken on their path to realization. Dhyana is an extension of Dharana. In Dharana, one continually tries to concentrate on another object, yet distractions still exist. In Dhyana, there is an uninterrupted flow of concentration like an endless stream of oil flowing downwards. Then, Samadhi, is the fullest extension of Dhyana and is divided into four stages of growth for the aspirant. In Samadhi, the object and subject become one. This stage is undescribable and transcends all of our day-to-day experiences in this life.

"As we think, so we become" - Meditations from the Tantras, p51, Swami Saraswati

Namaste and blessings to you,

Lotus Anwen Wachiwi Sagebrush (satya)

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page